Hugo Nominees Announced


Nippon 2007 is delighted to announce the nominees for the 2007 Hugo Awards (for work done in 2006).  The Hugo Awards are science fiction's highest honor for professional and fan work.

The winners will be announced at the Hugo Awards Ceremonies during the 65th World Science Fiction Convention in Yokohama, Japan, on Saturday, September 1st. The ceremony will begin at 6:00 p.m. JPT.  The Worldcon will be held in the PACIFICO YOKOHAMA Convention Center on August 30th - September 3, 2007.

The Hugo Awards (and site selection) ballots are being mailed to our members in a stand-alone mailing in addition to being included in Progress Report 5, due to be mailed in late April.  Online voting will be available to all eligible voters, and printable versions of the ballot will also be included on the Nippon 2007 web site.  Only supporting and attending members of Nippon 2007 may vote on the Hugo Awards.

To join Nippon 2007 and vote for the works and people you think were the best in 2006, write us at the address above or see our web pages ( for more information.

The 2007 Hugo Awards nominations include finalists in 14 categories, plus the John W. Campbell Award (not a Hugo), listed below.  As part of the transition between rule sets, the sponsors of the John W. Campbell award extended the eligibility for writers whose eligibility was reduced to one year because of the rules change that went into effect in 2006.  This will only affect the awards for 2007.

As a result of a change ratified by the World Science Fiction Society in 2006, the former Best Professional Editor category has been replaced with two categories: Best Editor, Short Form and Best Editor, Long Form.

The original of this press release had an incorrect entry in the Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form, which has been corrected here.  For additional explanation, see Correction of Press Release.


2007 Hugo Award Nominees

(Total Voters : 409)


Votes: 1009 Voters: 327
Range: 35 - 58

Eifelheim by Michael Flynn (Tor)
His Majesty's Dragon by Naomi Novik (Del Rey: Voyager 1/06 as Temeraire)
Glasshouse by Charles Stross (Ace)
Rainbows End by Vernor Vinge (Tor)
Blindsight by Peter Watts (Tor)


Votes: 424 Voters: 167
Range: 26 - 34

"The Walls of the Universe" by Paul Melko (Asimov's April/May 2006)
"A Billion Eves" by Robert Reed (Asimov's October/November 2006)
"Inclination" by William Shunn (Asimov's April/May 2006)
"Lord Weary's Empire" by Michael Swanwick (Asimov's December 2006)
Julian: A Christmas Story by Robert Charles Wilson (PS Publishing)


Votes: 564 Voters: 191
Range: 21 - 34

"Yellow Card Man" by Paolo Bacigalupi (Asimov's December 2006)
"Dawn, and Sunset, and the Colours of the Earth" by Michael F. Flynn (Asimov's October/November 2006)
"The Djinn's Wife" by Ian McDonald (Asimov's July 2006)
"All the Things You Are" by Mike Resnick (Jim Baen's Universe October 2006)
"Pol Pot's Beautiful Daughter (Fantasy)" by Geoff Ryman (Fantasy and Science Fiction October 2006)


Short Story
Votes: 608 Voters: 214
Range: 16 - 43

"How to Talk to Girls at Parties" by Neil Gaiman (Fragile Things, William Morrow)
"Kin" by Bruce McAllister (Asimov's February 2006)
"Impossible Dreams" by Tim Pratt (Asimov's July 2006)
"Eight Episodes" by Robert Reed (Asimov's June 2006)
"The House Beyond Your Sky" by Benjamin Rosenbaum (Strange Horizons September 2006)


Related Book
Votes: 403 Voters: 190
Range: 21 - 93

About Writing: Seven Essays, Four Letters, and Five Interviews by Samuel R. Delany (Wesleyan University Press)
Heinlein's Children: The Juveniles by Joseph T. Major (Advent: Publishing)
James Tiptree, Jr.: The Double Life of Alice Sheldon by Julie Phillips (St. Martin's)
Cover Story: The Art of John Picacio by John Picacio (MonkeyBrain Books)
Worldcon Guest of Honor Speeches by Mike Resnick and Joe Siclari, eds. (ISFiC Press)


Dramatic Long Form
Votes: 677 Voters: 243
Range: 40 - 102

Children of Men; Screenplay by: Alfonso Cuaron & Timothy J. Sexton and David Arata and Mark Fergus & Hawk Ostby; Based on the Novel "The Children of Men" by P.D. James
Pan's Labyrinth; Screenplay by Guillermo del Toro
The Prestige; Screenplay by: Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan; Based on the novel by Christopher Priest
A Scanner Darkly; Screenplay by: Richard Linklater; Based on the Novel by Philip K. Dick
V for Vendetta; Screenplay by: The Wachowski Brothers; Based on the Graphic Novel illustrated by David Lloyd


Dramatic Short Form
Votes: 525 Voters: 179
Range: 22 - 64

Battlestar Galactica "Downloaded"; Written by: Bradley Thompson & David Weddle
Doctor Who "Army of Ghosts" and "Doomsday"; Written by Russell T. Davies
Doctor Who "Girl in the Fireplace"; Written by Steven Moffat
Doctor Who "School Reunion"; Written by Toby Whithouse
Stargate SG-1 "200"; Written by: Brad Wright & Robert C. Cooper & Joseph Mallozzi & Paul Mullie & Carl Binder & Martin Gero & Alan McCullough


Editor, Long
Votes: 543 Voters: 191
Range: 28 - 88

Lou Anders (Pyr)
James Patrick Baen (Baen Books)
Ginjer Buchanan (Ace Books / Roc)
David G. Hartwell (Tor Books)
Patrick Nielsen Hayden (Tor Books)


Editor, Short
Votes: 584 Voters: 211
Range: 26 - 92

Gardner Dozois (The Year's Best Science Fiction)
David G. Hartwell (Year's Best SF/New York Review of Science Fiction)
Stanley Schmidt (Analog)
Gordon Van Gelder (Fantasy and Science Fiction)
Sheila Williams (Asimov's)


Pro Artist
Votes: 695 Voters: 199
Range: 28 - 71

Bob Eggleton
Donato Giancola
Stephan Martiniere
John Jude Palencar
John Picacio


Fan Writer
Votes: 493 Voters: 182
Range: 21 - 39

Chris Garcia
John Hertz
Dave Langford
John Scalzi
Steven H Silver


Semi Prozine
Votes: 361 Voters: 159
Range: 22 - 76

Ansible edited by Dave Langford
Interzone edited by Andy Cox
Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet edited by Gavin Grant and Kelly Link
Locus edited by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong and Liza Groen Trombi
The New York Review of Science Fiction edited by Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell, and Kevin J. Maroney


Votes: 362 Voters: 155
Range: 23 - 28

Banana Wings edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer, ed.
Challenger edited by Guy H. Lillian III
The Drink Tank edited by Chris Garcia
Plokta edited by Alison Scott, Steve Davies, and Mike Scott
Science-Fiction Five-Yearly edited by Lee Hoffman, Geri Sullivan, and Randy Byers


Fan Artist
Votes: 305 Voters:141
Range: 23 - 59

Brad W. Foster
Teddy Harvia
Sue Mason
Steve Stiles
Frank Wu


Campbell Award
Votes: 551 Voters: 200
Range: 24 - 81

Scott Lynch (1st Year)
Sarah Monette (2nd year)
Naomi Novik (1st year)
Brandon Sanderson (2nd Year)
Lawrence M. Schoen (2nd Year)