skip to main content

* HOME *

At a Glance

About Nippon 2007
About WorldCons
Art Show
Child Care
Contact Us
Con Suite
Dealers Room
Facilities / Maps
Filking (Music!)
Guests of Honor
Handicapped Services
    Hotel Alternatives
Hugo Awards
    Hugo Winners
    Hugo Nominees
    Rocket Archive
Main Events:
    Mmbrshp Transfer
Newsletters (At Con)
Program - Western
    Program Grid
    Program Participants
Program - Japanese
Seiun Awards
Site Map
Site Selection 2009
Speculative Japan
Tour with Fans
    Ghibli Tour
    Travel Links
World S F Society
Nippon Bid Site
Archon 31 (NASFiC)
2008 Denvention 3
2009 Anticipation

En Espagñol

The Hugo Awards

Nippon 2007 Hugo, Base design by Kinoshita Takashi of Kaiyoda
Nippon 2007 Hugo

The Hugo® is the top award for excellence in the field of science fiction and fantasy.  Hugos are presented each year at the World Science Fiction Convention, by the World Science Fiction Society.  All Worldcon members are entitled to nominate and vote for their favorites.

2007 Hugo Ceremony

George Takei The Nippon 2007 Hugo Presentation Ceremony will be held in the convention center on September 1st at 18:00 hours (6 pm).  We are honored to have a special co-host for the ceremony this year - George Takei, who will also be premiering a new production of "Star Trek New Voyages."

This Star Trek New Voyages episode stars George Takei and has won the TV Guide Award for Best SF Internet show, and has been nominated for the 2008 Hugo for Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form.

The Nippon 2007 trophy features Japan's Ultraman and Mount Fuji, along with the traditional Hugo Rocket.  The base was designed by Kinoshita Takashi of Kaiyoda.

Past Hugo Winners

Looking for something to read? has an excellent listing of all Hugo winners.  And what would a Hugo bookshelf look like?

Hugo Categories

Hugos are presented every year in the following categories:

©M.McMillan, photo of a tall stack of Hugo winning novels • Best Novel
• Best Novella
• Best Novelette
• Best Short Story
• Best Related Book
• Best Dramatic Presentation - Long Form
• Best Dramatic Presentation - Short Form
• Best Professional Editor - Long Form
• Best Professional Editor - Short Form
• Best Professional Artist
• Best SemiProzine
• Best Fanzine
• Best Fan Writer
• Best Fan Artist

Each Worldcon may also create its own additional Hugo category, which is awarded through the same process as the ongoing categories.  Nippon 2007 did not choose to do this.  See the Worldcon Constitution for details.

A full list of the current award categories with definitions is available at the Emerald City web site.

Hugo Nomination and Voting

Voting for the Hugo Awards took place in two stages.

  • During the Nomination Ballot stage, Nippon 2007 and LACon IV members nominated up to five entries in each category.

  • During the Final Ballot, members of only Nippon 2007 selected their favorites from the Nominees.  Balloting closed July 31.

picture of Campbell trophyCampbell Best New Writer Award

The John W. Campbell Best New Writer Award isn't a Hugo (i.e. no rocket trophy), but nomination and balloting are done along with the Hugos, and the Award is presented at Worldcon.  Writertopia has the Campbell Award page on their web site with details.

Hugo Design

The basic Hugo design is a chrome rocket ship, created by Jack McKnight and Ben Jason.  Each Worldcon designs its own base for the rocket, so every year's Hugos look different.
Think all Hugos look alike?  Come take our Historical Tour
Another archive of Hugo designs is available at the Emerald City web site.

More Hugo Information

  • The WSFS Constitution defines the formal rules governing Hugo categories and voting procedures.
  • Locus Online contains a comprehensive listing of SF Awards including not only the Hugos but many others from around the World.

(top of page)